

IBN HALDUN UNIVERSITY SENATE MEETING RESOLUTIONS

MEETING DATE : 06.09.2024 MEETING NUMBER : 2024/17

MEETING PLACE : Rectorate 1st Floor Senate

Room

MEETING TIME : 09.00

SENATE MEMBERS

Rector / Acting Dean of the Faculty of Islamic Sciences /
Prof. Dr. Atilla ARKAN

Rector / Acting Dean of the Faculty of Humanities and Social

Sciences / Acting Dean of the Faculty of Communication

Prof. Dr. Ali YEŞİLIRMAK

Vice Rector / Acting Dean of the Faculty of Educational

Sciences

Prof. Dr. Mustafa Kemal YILMAZ Vice Rector

Prof. Dr. Şükrü YILDIZ Dean of Faculty of Law

Prof. Dr. Ümit HACIOĞLU

Prof. Dr. Ali Osman KUŞAKCI

Assoc. Dr. Vahdettin IŞIK

Lecturer Muhammet Furkan ALPAT

Lecturer Dr. Mehmet Akın BULUT

Dean of the Faculty of Management Sciences

Director of the Graduate Education Institute

Director of the Alliance of Civilizations Institute

Director of the School of Foreign Languages

Faculty of Educational Sciences / Senate Member

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Mehmet KARANFİLOĞLU Faculty of Communication / Senate Member

Prof. Dr. Halil BERKTAY

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences / Senate

Member

Lecturer Dr. İhsan KAHVECİ Faculty of Islamic Sciences / Senate Member (**On Leave**)

Sebahattin BELİK Secretary General / Rapporteur

Abdullah MANTICI Student Representative

MEETING QUORUM

The Senate meeting was convened under the chairmanship of Rector Prof. Dr. Atilla ARKAN. Fifteen (15) out of sixteen (16) Senate members attended the meeting. The quorum was met, and discussions on the agenda items listed below commenced.

AGENDA

- 1. Discussion on determining the semester course load for the Undergraduate Program.
- **2.** Discussion on the details of the courses to be offered and the modes of instruction for the Fall semester of the 2024-2025 Academic Year, based on the letter dated 29.08.2024, numbered 45473, from our University's Directorate of Student Affairs.
- 3. Determination/revision of the members of our University's Scholarship Commission.
- **4.** Discussion on the election of a representative member to the Interuniversity Council on behalf of our University.

Date: 06.09.2024 Meeting No: 2024/17 Time: 09.00

5. Determination of a professor representative for membership in the University Administrative

Board.

6. Discussion on the Second Application Period Calendar for the 2024-2025 Academic Year, based

on the letter dated 26.08.2024, numbered 45307, from our University's Graduate Education

Institute.

7. Determination/revision of the Chair of our University's Senate Education Commission.

RESOLUTIONS

RESOLUTION 1- Pursuant to Article 19, Paragraph 5 of our University's Undergraduate Education and

Examination Regulation, it has been decided that the maximum total credit load students can take in a

semester, including courses from double major and/or minor programs, shall be 42 ECTS.

RESOLUTION 2- Based on Article 6, Clause (b) of the Council of Higher Education's Regulations on

Distance Education in Higher Education Institutions and considering that the primary mode of

instruction is face-to-face education, it was unanimously decided by the attendees to open the courses

specified in Annex-1 for the Fall semester of the 2024-2025 academic year for our University's

Preparatory, Undergraduate, and Graduate programs. It was also decided that educational activities may

be conducted up to a maximum of 30% through distance education and that all examinations will be

conducted face-to-face. This decision will be submitted to the Council of Higher Education for

approval. (Annex-1)

RESOLUTION 3- Due to the request by Scholarship Commission Chair Prof. Dr. Ali YEŞİLIRMAK

to be relieved from his administrative duties starting from September 9, 2024 in order to complete a

book project to be published by an international publishing house under his academic leave (sabbatical),

it was unanimously decided by the attendees to update the members of the Scholarship Commission as

specified below, to address the resulting vacancy.

Scholarship Commission Members:

- Prof. Dr. Özcan Erkan AKGÜN- Vice Rector (Chair)

- Nilay YILDIRAN (Member)

- Fatma PINARBAŞ BAYKAL (Member)

RESOLUTION 4- Since Prof. Dr. Ali YEŞİLIRMAK, previously elected as a professor member to the

Interuniversity Council, has requested to be relieved of his administrative duties starting from September

9, 2024, in order to complete a book project that will be published by an international publishing house,

under his academic leave (sabbatical), it was unanimously decided by the attendees, in accordance with

Date: 06.09.2024 **Meeting No:** 2024/17 **Time:** 09.00

2

Article 11 of Law No. 2547 on Higher Education, to elect Prof. Dr. Özcan Erkan AKGÜN as a "professor member" to the Interuniversity Council for a period of four years.

RESOLUTION 5- Since Prof. Dr. Ali YEŞİLIRMAK, serving in our Faculty of Law, has requested to be relieved from his administrative duties starting from September 9, 2024, under academic leave (sabbatical) in order to complete a book project to be published by an international publishing house, it was unanimously decided to appoint Prof. Dr. Özcan Erkan AKGÜN as a professor member to the University Administrative Board for a term of four years. This decision is made in accordance with Article 14(b), Clause 7 of Law No. 2547, and Article 5(b), Clause 7 of the Regulation on Academic Organization in Universities.

RESOLUTION 6- Based on the letter dated 26.08.2024, numbered 45307, from our University's Graduate Education Institute, it was unanimously decided by the attendees to approve the Second Application Period Calendar for the 2024-2025 Academic Year as specified in Annex-2. (**Annex-2**)

RESOLUTION 7- Due to the request by Senate Education Commission Chair Prof. Dr. Ali YEŞİLIRMAK to be relieved from his administrative duties starting from September 9, 2024, in order to complete a book project that will be published by an international publishing house under his academic leave (sabbatical), it was unanimously decided by the attendees to appoint Prof. Dr. Özcan Erkan AKGÜN as the new Chair of the Senate Education Commission.

Date: 06.09.2024 Meeting No: 2024/17 Time: 09.00